Legal Guidance after Traffic Violations in Virginia Beach
Aggressive attorneys help protect your driving privileges
In eastern Virginia, it’s very hard to get by without a car. So, losing your driving privileges can have terrible consequences for your career and your personal life. If you’ve been cited for a traffic violation, it’s often worth your while to fight the ticket to avoid a high fine and penalty points. Those points could severely impact the cost of your insurance and put you in jeopardy of a license suspension. The Stallings Law Group, P.C. helps Virginia and out-of-state drivers contest traffic violations that would otherwise cost hundreds, if not thousands, of dollars over the long term. We provide the advantage of professional legal counsel and proven strategies that drivers do not have when they choose to roll the dice and represent themselves.
Understanding Virginia’s penalty point system
In addition to fines for traffic offenses, Virginia has a penalty points system designed to punish excessive moving violations. Drivers accumulate points on their license for every moving violation they commit. Consequences are as follows:
- 12 or more points in a 12 month period — License suspension unless the driver completes a driver improvement clinic within 90 days.
- 18 points in a 24 month period — License suspension unless the driver completes a driver improvement clinic within 90 days.
- 18 or more points in a 12 month period — License suspension for 90 days and a driver improvement clinic for reinstatement. Driver remains on probation for six months.
- 24 points in a 24 month period — License suspension for 90 days and a driver improvement clinic for reinstatement. Driver remains on probation for six months.
Penalty points stay on your driving record for two years, so they are much easier to accumulate than to lose. For example, a reckless driving citation carries six penalty points. Penalty points are reported to your insurer and can cost you any kind of safe driving discount you get on your insurance premium, leading to large increases. Winning your traffic violation dispute keeps points off your license.
Reckless driving is a misdemeanor that can carry a jail sentence
In Virginia, reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which allows for a jail sentence of up to 12 months and a maximum fine of $2,500. Other Class 1 misdemeanors are first and second offense drunk driving, assault and battery, trespass, and sexual battery. Although it is unlikely you will face jail time for reckless driving, you must take this charge seriously, and retain experienced criminal defense counsel.
Contact our defense attorneys to fight traffic charges in Virginia Beach
It’s always worth your while to fight a traffic ticket, but only if you have professional representation. The defense attorneys at The Stallings Law Group, P.C. have the knowledge, skill and experience to challenge the basis of your ticket and obtain the best results possible. Call 757-325-9128 to schedule a free 30 minute consultation or contact our office online.